Girl love week! ‘Snot Girl’, ‘Paper Girls’, ‘Bitch Planet’, and ‘Lumberjanes: Beyond Bay Leaf’ | Rachel McGill

Rachel McGill Lv141Rogue | The Black Lion Journal | The Black Lion
by Rachel McGill

When I buy new comics I enjoy blind shopping. I love comics, all comics and I feel that blind shopping opens up to new reading possibilities. Not to mention all the amazing indie brands and indie creators there is to support. With that being said all of these comics I am reviewing I had no prior knowledge of before buying them. I want to add though, Deconnick is one of my idols (she’s fucking badass and everyone should know her name) so I might be slightly biased with my Bitch Planet review. With that being said I urge all of you to support indie brands and especially indie female writers and artists. Girl power!

Girl love week! Snot Girl, Paper Girls, Bitch Planet and Lumberjanes: Beyond Bay Leaf | Rachel McGill | BL | Black Lion Journal | Black Lion

Snot Girl

Snot Girl F/W 2016 no 1 by Bryan Lee O’Malley (radiomaru) and Leslie Hung is different, I think? The story of Lottie Person, fashion blogger and allergy sufferer begins with her crying. Lottie’s asshole friends have ditched her once again and she’s been put on another allergy medication. I must admit I feel Snot Girl on a spiritual level. Like Lottie I have horrible allergies and like most 18-25 year olds suffer from an often dibitating case of F.O.M.O. (Fear of Missing Out). Queue CoolGirl; laid back, fashionable without trying, and more importantly to Lottie, CoolGirl is perfect BFF material. The artstyle has the character stylings of an anime, the colors are fairly neutral but it fits really well with the scenes. I have to admit, based on what I’ve seen so far, this storyline isn’t typically the kind of comic I’d read. With that being said the ending had a VERY unexpected twist that really has me wondering what happens next. | Buy on Amazon

Girl love week! Snot Girl, Paper Girls, Bitch Planet and Lumberjanes: Beyond Bay Leaf | Rachel McGill | BL | Black Lion Journal | Black Lion

Paper Girls

I’ve been eyeing Paper Girls by Brian K. Vaughan and Cliff Chiang for some time, maybe part of me thought the cover is reminiscent of The Goonies or maybe it’s just because it says girls in the title, either way I finally took the plunge last week and I am not disappointed. I’m just saying, if you are in love with Netflix’s “Stranger Things”, you are going to love this comic. The writing is great and each main character is fully developed. The story starts off with Erin having a bad dream – cryptic and telling. The alarm goes off at 4 am and Erin rushes off to complete her paper route. She runs into the rest of the girls while on her route and they invite her along because it’s the morning after Halloween and people are crazy. Through the course of the morning they stumble upon something unusual and hopefully harmless. But I do wonder if those shady characters in robes have anything to do with it? I am putting this on my list of series to continue. hope you join me for the route. | Buy on Amazon

Girl love week! Snot Girl, Paper Girls, Bitch Planet and Lumberjanes: Beyond Bay Leaf | Rachel McGill | BL | Black Lion Journal | Black Lion

Bitch Planet no. 1

NOTE: this is an old comic which can only be bought used or as a single issue firsts (which are only $1 and a great way to jump into a comics).

Bitch Planet no. 1 by Kelly Sue Deconnick, Valentine De Landro, Cris Peter and Clayton Cowles, starts off with a voice actor casting out a group of women, called “killers”, to a distant planet. Bitch Planet, a maximum security women’s prison that happens to be, you guessed it, on another planet, where women are sent for non-compliance towards their husbands, and I assume, other ways a female could piss off a man. In other words, bitches get sent to Bitch Planet. The characters are diverse; there so many different body’s types, personalities and colors and the best part is that it’s mostly all women. The art is expressive and raw, showing the utilitarian nature of prison while still expressing the range of emotions depicted in this comic. I’ve waited so long to read this comic and I’m in love. If you haven’t read Bitch Planet go find it and read it! | Buy on Amazon

Girl love week! Snot Girl, Paper Girls, Bitch Planet and Lumberjanes: Beyond Bay Leaf | Rachel McGill | BL | Black Lion Journal | Black Lion

Lumberjanes: Beyond Bay Leaf

Lumberjanes: Beyond Bay Leaf (or to be honest, any Lumberjanes comic) shows female friendship in such a wonderful way that I recommend it to EVERYONE! This particular arc by Faith Erin Hicks, Rosemary Valero-O’Connell and Maarta Laiho begins with the Lumberjanes observing the wonders of the night sky. Suddenly Ripley (I know I love that name too) chases after a ghost pony. Not a group to leave their friend alone, the rest of the Lumberjanes go after Ripley. We come to learn that ghost ponies are in fact real and one cruel women will do anything to kill them all. The girls work together to save the day in true female friendship style. The art is chunky and fun, typical Boom Box style, which I’ve come to love. I definitely recommend this comic to anyone! I don’t know if I’ll continue the storyline but reading just one Lumberjanes comic is worth it. | Buy on Amazon

 

BL | Black Lion Journal | Black Lion | Christina Lydia

Review by Rachel McGill of Lvl41Rogue: Comic Reviews & News. © 2017 Black Lion Journal. Want to see your work here? Visit the Submissions page to learn more about submitting to the Journal’s sections or to The Wire’s Dream.


 

Discuss

