Interview | Changing Pages Founder Angela Vincent On Bookish Love & On Her Passion For Reading And Writing

Interview | Changing Pages Founder Angela Vincent On Bookish Love (And Her Passion For Reading And Writing!) | Angela Vincent | Changing Pages | The Black Lion Journal | The Black Lion | Black Lion

I like to say that it’s rare to find book reviewers who are passionate about reading and writing because it’s true. If you haven’t already noticed, The Black Lion Journal is a fan of books and reviews, among other things. And all contributors, reviewers, submitters, and guests are valued here, in this space. It is for this reason Angela Vincent and Changing Pages have a valued place here.

 

“Angela Vincent is a marvelous writer and book reviewer. Her experience in book reviewing comes across in how she represents each book, right down to the book’s image. Small details like that make a difference between a traditional book review to one that is approachable and friendly.” From Featured Series | Angela Vincent: Humility, London, And Other Musings — All In A Bookworm’s Life

 

Interview | Changing Pages Founder Angela Vincent On Bookish Love (And Her Passion For Reading And Writing!) | Angela Vincent | Changing Pages | The Black Lion Journal | The Black Lion | Black Lion
5 on Friday: 5 recent blog discoveries

Changing Pages is the creation of Angela Vincent, and her reviews have been featured on The Black Lion Journal since Part 2 in 2014. She’s a book loving Londoner and nurse who reads, writes, runs, and bakes! Her bookish love is reinforced by her superb and refreshing book reviews, posts on London life and on Creativity, as well as her posts on Galleries and Exhibitions — incuding her fabulous 5 On Friday series where she talks about a myriad of truly wonderful things.

Her Instagram is to marvel at. She has so many beautiful and inspiring pictures of life, everyday things, and of travel — you’re missing out if you haven’t seen what she’s posted.

I asked Angela if she could take a few moments of her time to answer a few questions about Changing Pages and about being a blogger and a writer. I’m honored that she agreed!

 
CHRISTINA LYDIA
Hello Angela! I want to thank you for your time and thank you for what you do for the blogosphere and for the book world. I’ve been a fan of Changing Pages ever since I first saw your blog in 2013 when I was starting off with The Black Lion Journal. A few years later, I have the privilege of getting to know you through your blog and your reviews. Needless to say, I have strong respect for what you do. Changing Pages is a marvelous site filled with great resources for book and literature lovers alike. What first prompted you to start a blog for books and literature? As a reader and a reviewer, what is it about books that appeals to you most?

ANGELA VINCENT
Thank you Christina. Creating a blog was something I thought about for a long time before I took the plunge and actually did it. I always knew my blog would be book focused. A love of books, reading and writing has always been a big part of my life. “Changing pages” began as a natural extension of that and as a means of writing about books, writers and all things bookish or inspirational. I have loved books for as long as I can remember, and I am never happier than when talking about books with other book lovers. I love the whole other world that books can create. I love being able to lose myself in someone else’s world or imagination and emerge on the other side in some way affected by that experience. I have always enjoyed writing and I wanted to write. I had been reading book reviews and other types of blogs for some time and I wanted to be part of that world.

Interview | Changing Pages Founder Angela Vincent On Bookish Love (And Her Passion For Reading And Writing!) | Angela Vincent | Changing Pages | The Black Lion Journal | The Black Lion | Black Lion

CHRISTINA LYDIA
There are so many books to read sometimes it’s hard to choose which you want to read next! I know there are some readers who only read a book once because there are simply too many good books out there. What about you? How do you approach a book for review? What picks your interest?

ANGELA VINCENT
I agree, so many books, so little time! Mostly I only read a book once, mainly because there are so many books I want to read. Like most book lovers my list of to-be-read books is always getting longer. However, there are some that I will always read again; The Great Gatsby being my number one return to book. I usually read Dickens A Christmas Carol at Christmas and it’s become a bit of a ritual for me. In addition, there are some authors I will always come back to. Anne Tyler for one is an author who never disappoints.

I don’t have a particular strategy for picking a book for review. My only rule to myself is that I only write positive reviews. I wouldn’t want to write about a book I really disliked, mainly because I want Changing pages to be a positive space. I am part of a reading group so often those books are ones I will review. I like to write about different sorts of books so I will not just restrict myself to novels. If I have loved a book, I can’t wait to write about it.

CHRISTINA LYDIA
As a reader and writer, I look forward to finding and meeting other readers and writers. I also find it challenging to balance out what I want to do with life’s other responsibilities. How have you balanced your creative life, travel, reading, and writing, with everything else?

ANGELA VINCENT
I’m not sure I do balance it very well. Mostly I feel l could do with another few hours in the day or certainly an extra day to the weekend to do all I’d like to. Although saying that, I think it’s always possible to find time to do something you love. Even if it means getting up a bit earlier or going to bed later or making other sacrifices in order to squeeze everything in. I will often get up extra early so I can fit in a bit of writing before work — and I don’t really watch much television. However, I never want blogging to feel like a chore, so although I try to post 3 times a week, sometimes that doesn’t happen.

Interview | Changing Pages Founder Angela Vincent On Bookish Love (And Her Passion For Reading And Writing!) | Angela Vincent | Changing Pages | The Black Lion Journal | The Black Lion | Black Lion

CHRISTINA LYDIA
What advice can you share about what you’ve learned from the world of blogging and book reviewing? What top tips can you give for those who want to start a review blog on their own?

ANGELA VINCENT
I always say to anyone thinking about blogging, “go for it.” Jump in and give it a go. Blogs have become very professional these days which can feel a little intimidating but there is always a place for someone who has something interesting to say. I would also say write for yourself initially. I started writing because I had a need to write which I had to respond to. My aim was to write for myself and then if anyone else read it and enjoyed it that was a bonus. My experience of the blogging world is that it is friendly and encouraging. The more you write, the more your confidence grows. Reviewing books or anything else, be it theatre, films, or art, requires honesty. I think readers will find you out if you are not really writing from the heart. Reviews don’t have to be clever but they need to contain your opinion and not just the opinion of someone else’s reviews.

If you are thinking of starting a blog, read other blogs and think: What is it about them that you like? As I have said previously I read many other blogs before I embarked on own. Think about what interests you: What is your passion? What do you want to share? When you have worked out what that it is, then it becomes easy to write about it. In the end, I think you just have to do it. I started knowing nothing and have learned so much as I have gone along. There are so many great resources out there too. Early on I did an online blogging course which helped immensely.

CHRISTINA LYDIA
Recently you’ve updated Changes Pages to a look that I absolutely love. It’s cleaner, streamlined, super professional, and definitely on par with other big review sites out there. What prompted you to decide that now is the time?

ANGELA VINCENT
Thank you so much. I had been wanting to update it for the last year or so but being technically challenged I wasn’t quite sure how to. I had set myself the challenge of updating it before the end of the year. I have been writing Changing Pages for 2 ½ years now and it’s not something I’m about to stop. I love writing it and it has become such a part of my life that I want it to reflect more of who I think I have become as a reader, writer, and blogger in that time. A more streamlined and professional image was what I wanted to achieve, something I could feel proud of. Although I still write for myself, I feel I have got to a place where I want Changing Pages to look like a review site that could be taken seriously by others.

Interview | Changing Pages Founder Angela Vincent On Bookish Love (And Her Passion For Reading And Writing!) | Angela Vincent | Changing Pages | The Black Lion Journal | The Black Lion | Black Lion
Front Page of Changing Pages

CHRISTINA LYDIA
You wrote a fantastic post talking about the recent changes called “Bringing the Changes.” Here, you talk about Changing Page’s evolution, an element that I too learned when working with TBL Journal. When did you realize that Changing Pages was evolving?

ANGELA VINCENT
Thank you, I enjoyed writing that post. Probably about a year ago I started to understand what I wanted to write about and what I could write about. I felt Changing pages was fairly established and had begun to find its voice. It felt very much part of me and had become in many ways an extension of me and an expression of all those things which interest and excite me.

CHRISTINA LYDIA
You also mention that soon, you’re going to focus on expanding to areas that pick your interest (“Bookish pages”, “London pages”, “Cultural pages”, and “Reflective Pages”). These are absolutely wonderful topics of interests and I’m really excited to see how the path that you’re taking will unfold. What view of Changing Pages do you hope readers will take away? In other words, what do you hope readers will remember after visiting your website? What mission do you ultimately have for Changing Pages?

ANGELA VINCENT
Yes I’m still working on that. It’s that challenge of juggling life, work and everything else again!

The blogs I enjoy most are those that inspire me to do something, whether that is to read a new author, visit a new place or to think about something new. This is what I hope Changing Pages can achieve. More than anything I hope readers would feel inspired to pick up a book, or visit an exhibition or find something that makes their heart sing. I love London, I love books, and I love to share those things. I’m not sure of my ultimate mission but I want to continue to develop Changing Pages. Ultimately I would like writing to become a greater part of my life I feel excited about the potential opportunities, and I’m keen to explore whatever might come along.

• • •

Interview | Changing Pages Founder Angela Vincent On Bookish Love (And Her Passion For Reading And Writing!) | Angela Vincent | Changing Pages | The Black Lion Journal | The Black Lion | Black Lion

 
Thank you, Angela, for sharing with us a bit on who you are and on what you love to do!

Be sure to follow Angela on Twitter, Instagram, and on Bloglovin’.

 

¡PSST! Interview © 2016 The Black Lion Journal. Images from Angela Vincent’s Instagram and Twitter.

Visit The Submissions page to learn about submitting to individual sections or to The Wire’s Dream. P.S. Use the social media links below to share with others.

 

Discuss

