Robyn Schneider’s “Severed heads, broken hearts” | TBL Pt. 2

Severed Heads, Broken Hearts

Author: Robyn Schneider
Publisher: Simon & Schuster, Limited, 2013
ISBN 13: 1471115461
Format: Paperback
Pages: 335
Rating: 4.5/5

By Kathryn Lewis

I read Severed heads, broken hearts by Robin Schneider, and despite feeling absolutely exhausted, generally I’d say that it was an enjoyable read.

Despite my dislike with the main character (I really didn’t like the popular homecoming king Ezra very much), by the end of the book, he had grown on me significantly. I’d actually say that not liking him to start really said quite a lot for this book; Ezra grows significantly as the story progresses, and my opinion of him grew along with this. While I did struggle to empathize with, or understand some of his decisions and actions, they did make him a more believable character, if not always the most likeable.

I also really liked the other key character, the new girl at school, Cassidy Thorpe. Although she seemed slightly overdone at times, generally she was a really interesting character who added a lot to the plot. The mystery surrounding her kept me guessing and wanting to read on. I was worried that the conclusion would be a little boring or predictable but I promise you that the mystery to Cassidy is both clever and believable–or at least, it certainly made me gasp.

The typical school dynamics were written perfectly; I really enjoyed the descriptions of the lessons and the cafeteria scenes. In fact, I thought Schneider’s descriptions were fantastic throughout–the matter of fact way the first scene was written was so completely at odds with the action it had described that it had me in stitches while somehow still fitting in with the rest of the plot!

The only slight thing that didn’t really work for me was that sometimes the main characters’s actions seemed far fetched and unbelievable. To me, the things they did seemed quite at odds with their ages–this made their character slightly less believable. However, this only happened a few times and didn’t disrupt my reading too much.

Overall, I’d recommend you give this book a read. I really found myself wanting to read on and the mystery elements are enough to keep you guessing. Although the characters weren’t always consistent, they were generally believable and interesting.

The Black Lion Paw

About the Author

robynschneider_1

Robyn Schneider is a writer, actor, and online personality who misspent her youth in a town coincidentally similar to Eastwood. Robyn is a graduate of Columbia University, where she studied creative writing, and the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, where she studied medical ethics. She lives in Los Angeles, California, but also on the internet. | Twitter, Tumblr, Youtube and Instagram.


Kathryn Lewis
Blog
Kathryn Lewis

Text © 2014 Kathryn Lewis
Re-print © 2014 The Black Lion Journal
Re-printed with permission.
Why do you see this?

Discuss

