Liebster Award!

Liebster Award

Last Monday, the lovely Ashley Doyen from COFFEE, BOOKS, AND OTHER ADDICTIONS nominated The Black Lion for the Liebster Award! I am beyond PROUD and GRATEFUL!

As far as I know, the Liebster Award is given to new blogs and or bloggers that have less than 200 followers. After some research (yes, I did research), I found this article that posts a bit more on what this award is about:

“This award exists only on the internet, and is given to bloggers by other bloggers

It has German origins – the word “liebster” has several definitions: dearest, sweetest, kindest, nicest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, welcome, sweetheart and boyfriend (really?)

It follows similar principles as a chain letter, in the sense that it should be passed forward to a certain number of people

Variations have been made over time to the “rules.”

Other awards are a part of the whole “meme.” These include “One Lovely Blog Award”, the “Sunshine Blog Award” and the “Versatile Writer Award”

On behalf of The Black Lion, I (Elsie) will answer a few questions Ashley wanted the nominees to answer:

1. What book has influenced your life the most?
Gah! It’s so difficult for me to imagine only one book that has influenced me the most, mainly because I sincerely LOVE to read–but also because I can find so much meaning through the written word that I can honestly say has influenced my worldview or perspective on life. But, I will have to say that all 7 Harry Potter books (was this a predictable answer?) truly have inspired me during my childhood to become more than I can imagine being. As I got older, though, I learned to appreciate many other books that I probably wouldn’t have picked up. One that comes to mind is is Jane Austen’s Persuasion. Persuasion isn’t given as much credit as Pride and Prejudice or Sense and Sensibility (both which are amazing stories) probably because there’s so much hype with Mr. Darcy or with Mr. Edward Ferrars–but, Captain Wentworth truly gives Mr. Darcy and Mr. Edward Ferrars a run for their money.

2. What is your favorite hobby?
READING! And Writing! I like writing short stories. I also love making hand-made books the old fashioned way as well as experimenting with publishing software and decorating.

3. What is something that no one would ever guess is true about you?
I am very silly.

4. Favorite quote of yours?
Gah! I have many quotes. But I will pick one that I’ve recently learned while studying rhetoric: “Speech is a powerful lord that with the smallest and most invisible body accomplishes most godlike works.” –Gorgias from “Encomium of Helen”

5. Why did you start blogging?
I love the idea of communicating in cyberspace and within the blogosphere. Plus, I like creating projects–and creating online journals is just one of the many things I love to do.

6. If you could spend the day with any person of your choice, who would it be and why?
Ooo! Good question! Let see…probably a relative from the future. I would love to see how the world is 3000 years from now, if people have truly changed, and/or if we’re governed by similar laws and or government entities. (Have we become a dystopian culture? Hmm…)

7. If you had only three wishes and you can’t wish for more wishes, what would they be?
1) Health for all
2) Love for all
3) Peace for all
(Cliché, I know. So what?)

8. Who inspires you?
My Mom.

9. Can you read multiple books at a time or can you only read one?
Girl! I can multi-book-task in a heart beat. Bring it on, stories!

10. What would be your dream super power?
To be invisible! And to read minds.

11. What is the one thing you want to accomplish before you die?
I want to know that I have done something worth living–anything that will bring satisfaction.

SO! On behalf of The Black Lion, I would like to nominate the following wonderful blogs (yes, I picked 12):

1. Lusterville and Lobsters
2. Samuel Charles Rafuse
3. I’ve Read This
4. Light Lit
5. Papery Lions
6. Hush: YA Journal
7. Sentio
8. Synesthesia Lit Journal
9. The YA League
10. Pinks+Femme
11. Changing-Pages
12. The Oak Wheel

And these are my questions for you, bloggers! (Most of them I took from Ashley because they were really good):

1. Why do you blog?
2. What is your favorite hobby?
3. What is the longest book series you’ve ever read?
4. Who is your favorite author/film director?
5. Do you prefer books made into movies or movies made into books?
6. What is something that no one would ever guess is true about you?
7. Who inspires you?
8. If you could spend the day with any person of your choice, who would it be and why?
9. What is your favorite quote?
10. What book or film has influenced your life the most?
11. What is the one thing you want to accomplish before you die?

Thank you again, Ashley for thinking about The Black Lion when nominating blogs! And thank you, readers, for continuing to support new blogs and bloggers!

5 thoughts on “Liebster Award!

Discuss

