Zombies and more zombies! R.L. Stine’s Zombie Town | TBL Pt. 2

Author: R.L.Stine
Publisher: Two Lions, 2012
ISBN: 1612183298
Format: Print/Paperback
Pages: 75
Rating: 4/5 stars

Review by A.E. Hellar

I couldn’t help it. Octavia Butler‘s novel “Kindred” is an amazing novel full of depth and character but it is also not for the faint of heart. The next book on my list was “Alice in Zombieland”. I started reading it but after I forced myself to read to the hundredth page, I couldn’t do it any longer. I wanted something not as intense as “Kindred” with a science fiction element that I had not read before. I considered high-tech space operas and even some of New York Times Bestselling series but nothing grabbed my attention. I wanted something fun and light. This immediately brought children’s science fiction to mind. At the top of the search results was R.L. Stine.

I don’t remember any exact memories of reading R.L. Stine. But I do remember how it felt to get a new book–the excitement, the thrill, and the satisfaction. Mr. Stine taught me the words of fear. Yeah I heard scary stories and watched movies but let’s be honest–there is something special about reading fear. The ability to write good children’s horror is a gift. R.L. Stine was king in my world when I was a kid.

I chose Zombie Town because I was in the mood for zombies. I enjoy a good zombie flick but I have yet to read a story with them. The premise of the story is that zombies in a movie come alive and start killing the people in town. Tweens Mike and Karen are best friends. When the movie Zombie Town comes to town, Mike doesn’t want to go see it because he’s easily scared but Karen really wants to go because it’s the hottest movie in town. While they are at the movie, strange things start to happen and before they know it they are being chased by zombies through town.

“Zombie Town” has A LOT of zombies. In just 75 pages, I got my fill. Stine doesn’t hold back–zombies are the subject in every scene as either a reference or a character. There’s enough detail in each zombie character that they feel fully developed. The zombies that Stine describes are similar enough to standard zombies that he only needs to add small details to make them his own. While I won’t give away the ending, I will say that I enjoyed the end completely. I felt like the ending was a “cherry on top” with a nice finishing touch. There wasn’t much to dislike about the story because it hit all the points necessary to leave a reader satisfied.

The Black Lion Paw

About the Author

Robert Lawrence Stine (born October 8, 1943),[1] known as R. L. Stine, and Jovial Bob Stine, is an American writer and producer. Stine, who is called the “Stephen King of children’s literature,”[2] is the author of hundreds of horror fiction novels, including the books in the Fear Street, Goosebumps, Rotten School, Mostly Ghostly, and The Nightmare Room series. Some of his other works include a Space Cadets trilogy, two Hark gamebooks, and dozens of joke books. R. L. Stine’s books have sold over 400 million copies as of 2008.

A.E. Hellar
Journal

Discuss

